公司发展历程

几根蜡笔、一张桌布纸和一个绝妙的想法,SAP Ariba就此诞生。

1996年的某一天,在门罗公园的Quadrus咖啡馆里,七位生意伙伴一边吃着三明治,一边讨论企业在采购过程中浪费的大量时间和资金。他们面临的问题是:基于纸张的过时采购程序既繁琐又令人无可奈何,无法帮助企业了解实际的开支情况。

他们意识到,解决方案就隐藏在“互联网”这个新生事物中,它带来了连接电脑系统并高效交换信息的机遇。他们把一罐蜡笔倒在桌上,开始描绘解决方案和具体功能。

它应当拥有一个直观的用户界面, 能够与企业财务系统进行整合, 同时提供买家与供应商之间的直接联系。借助这些功能,它将从根本上改变人们开展业务的方式。

表面上看,它是一个能够削减采购时间和成本的绝妙点子。而其核心则具有更加本质性的重大意义:满足我们与志同道合者联系并开展合作的共同需求。

这个想法足以将敢于冒险的投资者、富有才华的员工和战略合作伙伴汇聚在一起。而且它具备强大的生存能力。无论面临伴随变革而出现的陷阱,还是互联网泡沫这类灾难性事件,SAP Ariba始终秉承着帮助贸易合作伙伴建立联系与合作的初衷稳步前行。

随着时间的推移,我们通过发展和收购不断扩大业务范围,纳入多种多样的B2B商务活动,并构建了一个供应商网络。作为一家从采购软件起步的公司,我们逐渐意识到企业应该突破空间的限制,更加轻松地与贸易合作伙伴进行合作,从而获享更稳固的联系和更高的可视性。因此,SAP Ariba转型为一家云公司,Ariba Network也不断发展壮大。

随后,全球经济从大萧条中复苏,而且比以往连接更紧密、更具移动性,也更加相互依赖。我们认识到,通过传承全球企业商务网络的衣钵,使企业能够像消费者一样在其中轻松开展基于云的商务,SAP Ariba促进贸易合作伙伴之间合作的使命将得到实现。

今天,我们能够见证多年前用蜡笔描绘出的想法如何演变、完善和发展壮大,并给全世界带来重大影响。 Ariba Network is more than 2.5 million businesses strong, with tremendous support as a member of the SAP family.我们正在与客户共同改变开展业务的方式。我们诚邀您加入。 

 

联系我们

Our Story

Ariba started with some crayons, a paper tablecloth, and the right idea.

It was 1996. Over sandwiches at Quadrus Café in Menlo Park, seven business colleagues were discussing the tremendous waste of time and money involved in corporate purchasing. The problem: outdated, paper-based procurement procedures—tedious, frustrating, and incapable of helping enterprises understand how their money was spent.

The solution, they recognized, lay in this new thing called “the Internet” and the opportunity it presented to link computer systems and efficiently exchange information. Spilling the jar of crayons on the table, they diagrammed their solution and what it would do.

It would have a walk-up user interface. It would integrate with enterprise financial systems. It would hook buyers right up to their suppliers. And doing so, it would fundamentally change the way business was done.

On the surface, it was a great idea for cutting purchasing time and costs. At its core was something much more fundamental and powerful: Our collective need to connect and collaborate with like-minded people.

It was an idea powerful enough to bring together venturous investors, talented employees, and strategic partners. And powerful enough to survive. Whether facing the pitfalls that come with any change endeavor or cataclysmic events like the dot-com bust, faithfulness to our idea of helping trading partners connect and collaborate has helped Ariba stay the course.

Over time, the scope of our work expanded, through development and acquisition, to include the full range of business-to-business commerce activities and the formation of a supplier network. Initially a procurement software company, we came to realize that businesses could enjoy stronger connections and better visibility by reaching beyond their four walls into a space where they could work more easily with their trading partners. So Ariba became a cloud company, and the Ariba Network continued to grow.

Then, the global economy emerged from the Great Recession—more connected, mobile, and interdependent than ever. We recognized that Ariba’s calling to facilitate trading partner collaboration would be fulfilled by our accepting the mantle of The World’s Business Commerce Network, and making it a place where cloud-based commerce is as easy for businesses as it is for consumers.

Today we can see how a crayon-drawn idea from years ago can evolve, adapt, and get bigger to have a major impact on the world. The Ariba Network is nearly two million businesses strong, with tremendous support as a member of the SAP family. Together with our customers we’re changing the way business gets done. And we invite you to join us. 


The Ariba Network