满足 GDPR 的要求

SAP 和 SAP Ariba 解决方案如何助力企业的 GDPR 合规之旅

I. 引言

2016 年 5月,欧盟 (EU) 颁布了统一的数据保护法规,即《通用数据保护条例》(General Data Protection Regulation,简称 GDPR)。自 2018 年 5 月 25 日起,GDPR 将在所有欧盟成员国及欧洲经济区正式生效。虽然 GDPR 没有引入许多全新的概念,但显著提高了对个人数据控制者和处理者的合规性要求。

SAP 公司承诺,确保在 2018 年 5 月 25 日之前遵守 GDPR 条例的合规性要求。作为我们通用产品标准的一部分,我们始终采用一致的数据保护方法。现在,为了响应 GDPR 条例的新要求,我们正在扩展该方法。

现在,我们的客户正在为合规做准备。因此,SAP 全面梳理了 GDPR 带来的重大变化,并介绍了这些变化的影响,以及 SAP 的产品功能如何帮助客户满足 GDPR 的要求。.

作为 SAP 的一部分,SAP Ariba 积极协助客户遵守 GDPR。本白皮书的后半部分列举了帮助客户实现这一目标而提供的具体 SAP Ariba 解决方案功能以及合规支持。

本白皮书中包含的信息仅作为一般性指导,并不构成 SAP 提供的法律建议。根据 GDPR,作为数据控制者,客户应负责采取适当的措施实现 GDPR 合规。对于根据本白皮书采取的任何行动,SAP 不承担任何责任。因此,本白皮书不得代替法律或专业咨询。

II. 目标

GDPR 旨在协调欧洲的各种数据保护要求,制定统一的数据保护法规。该条例适用于依据公法和私法行使数据控制或数据处理权利的法人团体。新法规旨在保护自然人的权利和自由,增强数据主体对持有或处理其个人数据的企业的信心,以及优化欧盟内部市场环境。为此,GDPR 提供了一套统一的规则,用于约束欧盟地区的个人数据处理活动。然而 GDPR 并不能使整个欧盟地区的个人数据保护法律完全统一,因为该条例包含开放条款,允许欧盟成员国针对特定的数据处理活动制定国家/地区特定的法律和要求。因此,这些开放条款可能导致数据控制者和处理者需要遵守其他的规则和义务,但不会改变或更改原法规。

III. 适用范围

GDPR 广泛适用于以自动方式或其他结构化形式对个人数据进行的处理,包括在归档系统中使用个人数据。这种区别显而易见,因为 GDPR 规定了本条例不适用于自然人在纯粹的个人、私人或家庭活动中进行的专门的个人数据处理。

IV. 地域范围

同样地,GDPR 覆盖广泛的地域,适用于数据控制者或处理者对欧盟数据主体个人数据的所有处理活动,无论控制者或处理者是否位于欧盟境内。本条例也适用于位于欧盟境外的处理者和控制者,为了向欧盟境内的数据主体提供商品/服务或对欧盟境内数据主体的行为实施监控而进行的数据处理。

V. 主要规定

GDPR 引入了一些新的法律要求,可能对数据控制者或处理者的业务产生重大影响。因此,无论是控制者还是处理者,都必须核实他们应承担的 GDPR 义务,并确定如何履行这些义务。

通用原则

根据通用处理原则,GDPR 要求个人数据处理活动必须合法、公正、透明、充分、准确、安全和保密、并且限定期限,明确目的,以负责任的方式进行(这意味着,企业必须采取适当的安全措施,包括技术措施和组织措施,确保数据完整性和保密性)。

个人数据

GDPR 条例对个人数据进行了明确定义,即,与已识别或可识别的个体有关的数据。GDPR 第四条第一款规定:“可识别的自然人是指能够被直接或间接识别的自然人,尤其是通过参照诸如名字、身份证号码、位置数据、在线身份识别这类标识,或通过参照该自然人身上独有的一个或多个物理、心理、遗传、精神、经济、文化或社会身份等要素。”个人数据显然涵盖了元数据或其他相关数据,比如 IP 地址、cookies 或其他能够追溯到个人的标识符(也可以是此类数据的组合)。GDPR 扩大了特殊类别个人数据的已知条目,纳入了基因数据、生物识别数据(用于识别自然人)以及与刑事定罪和犯罪相关的数据。

合法

只有达到 GDPR 规定的某一许可标准,个人数据处理行为才视为合法。在未经法律直接许可的情况下,企业需要征得数据主体的同意。此同意声明必须涵盖企业(计划处理数据的企业)收集和处理数据的所有目的,并赋予个人随时撤回同意的权利。这意味着,针对各种非特定目的的免知情同意或全面同意对个人数据的处理是无效的。

问责制

GDRP 旨在强化个人数据处理者的责任,提高数据处理透明度。尽管其内容和结构与现行的《欧盟指令》(EU Directive) 有相似之处,但 GDPR 会采取更强硬的手段执法。违规处罚非常重,比如高达企业全球年营业额的 4% 或 2,000 万欧元的行政罚款(以较高者为准),同时企业还可能面临损害索赔和其他法律责任风险,目的在于激励企业优化内部结构和流程,遵守法规。

设计和默认数据保护

依据 GDPR 条款,企业必须有意识地建立隐私保护机制,系统和处理都必须默认采用隐私保护。企业有义务确保个人数据的处理是为了一个特定的目的,而且,企业必须证明数据保护是他们 IT 框架和解决方案设计的核心。

技术和组织安全性

这些企业也有义务实施所有必要的技术和组织措施,确保根据数据主体个人数据处理的风险级别提供适度的安全机制。因此,企业有必要分析其内部 IT 资产状况,识别和映射包含个人数据的数据流。这将有助于确定安全架构的适宜性。数据主体权利

企业应当遵循以下概念,即个人应当了解,并且始终能够确定企业收集了哪些个人数据、这些数据交由谁处理、处理的目的和时间期限。因此,数据控制者将需要主动提供相应的一般信息和特定信息;这符合 GDPR 修订的有关数据转移权,以及个人数据访问权、拒绝或反对权、或者被遗忘权的规定。因此,处理个人数据的企业将需要建立强大的内部流程,并指定相应的角色。

数据治理

企业必须实施一系列系统性的措施,降低违规风险。作为数据控制者,客户必须向数据主体和监管机构证明他们遵守了适用的法规;而作为数据处理者,SAP 也必须向客户作出同样的证明。如果企业既要追踪个人数据处理的目的,又要确保所有数据处理都经过个人同意,那么复杂性就会随之增加。因此,这些措施必须融入到现有的 IT 基础架构中。根据企业数据保护风险评估结果采取相应措施将有助于保持合规,这些措施包括任命专门的数据保护官,执行隐私影响评估,以及采用定期审计流程。

数据泄露通知

当出现问题时,即,当企业的内部组织措施未能防止数据泄露,或企业处理个人数据的目的被发现不合法时,企业需要发送数据泄漏通知。一旦发生数据泄露,数据控制者必须在知晓后 72 小时内通知监管机构和受影响的个人。数据处理者必须在知晓个人数据泄露后通知数据控制者,不得无故延误。

VI. SAP Ariba 解决方案和服务的角色

SAP Ariba 解决方案将从多方面帮助客户实现 GDPR 合规。例如:

  • SAP Ariba 解决方案能够就员工及供应商数据的管理和保护提供支持,包括数据访问权限和可视性,这样客户的采购和供应链团队就能专注于开展业务。

  • 借助 SAP Ariba,客户能够加强和保护与供应商的关键协作,管理从寻源到财务的所有事务,

  • 同时支持企业履行问责制,满足安全和数据保护要求。 

与 SAP Ariba 服务相关的 GDPR 角色和定义

数据控制者:GDPR 第四条第七款规定:“‘数据控制者‘是指单独或与他人共同决定个人数据的处理目的和方式的自然人、法人、公共机构、行政机关或其他非法人组织”(着重强调)。

总的来说,数据控制者对收集的所有个人数据承担责任,并且必须确保数据处理者保障数据主体的权利和履行控制者自己的法律义务。

  • SAP Ariba 客户在使用 SAP Ariba 应用时就是数据控制者。SAP Ariba 按照合同规定(比如数据保护协议、服务描述或工作说明)代表客户履行数据处理者之责。

  • SAP Ariba 供应商是数据控制者,因为他们对 Ariba Network 中(比如,通过自助注册)输入的个人数据负全责。

数据处理者:GDPR 第四条第八款规定:“‘数据处理者’是指代表控制者处理个人数据的自然人、法人、公共机构、行政机关或其他非法人组织”(着重强调)。

通常,这是指数据处理者按照合同约定,根据数据控制者的指示进行数据处理。

  • 作为客户和供应商的云解决方案提供商,SAP Ariba 是代表客户和供应商(二者皆为数据控制者)的数据处理者。

SAP Ariba 解决方案和个人数据

  • 个人数据类型:SAP Ariba 解决方案仅处理作为用户或业务联系人的个人的简单业务联系信息,比如他们的电子邮件地址、员工编号、员工姓名、业务电话和邮政地址。

  • 个人数据的特殊类型:《SAP Ariba 隐私声明》明确规定,禁止使用解决方案处理特殊类型的个人数据。

  • 跨境数据传输:SAP Ariba 与 SAP/Ariba 关联公司和分处理者共同维护数据传输协议,遵守欧盟对个人数据传输的要求。这些协议是根据完全符合 GDPR 要求的欧盟标准合同条款 (SCC) 制定的,以确保在将数据传输给欧盟以外的第三国时提供适当的数据保护

  • 数据加密:个人数据在存储时进行加密,而且所有外部通信都进行加密处理,相应的安全政策也落实到位。

SAP Ariba 作为数据处理者如何支持客户

  • SAP Ariba 在问责制和技术方面实施了适当的技术性措施和组织措施,包括维护处理活动的记录、执行隐私影响评估,以及在产品周期中融入隐私保护设计和默认设置。 

  • SAP Ariba 遵循 SAP 针对所有云解决方案采用的统一方法,将数据保护协议 (DPA) 作为客户合同的一个重要组成部分,该协议包含了标准合同条款,向客户提供数据保护保证。

  • SAP Ariba 的员工每年必须通过数据保护和隐私/安全意识培训,这些培训涵盖了隐私原则和安全话题。

  • SAP 致力于帮助客户了解 SAP Ariba 解决方案如何保护他们的数据的机密性、完整性和可用性,并通过在 SAP Cloud Trust Center 中主动发布有关 SAP Ariba 认证和证明、数据处理协议、实时的云解决方案可用性及类似领域的信息,确保持续落实责任制。

SAP Ariba 解决方案功能支持 GDPR 合规

  • 同意:SAP Ariba 解决方案在授权新用户使用前会征得用户同意,并确认用户已阅读隐私声明,其中包括(比如)数据处理的目的和被处理的个人数据的类型。SAP Ariba 正在评估全面的同意机制,比如客户可配置的隐私声明。此外, SAP Ariba 解决方案还支持使用自助服务选择退出,这样接收者就能取消不需要的订阅服务,比如电子邮件通知。

  • 被遗忘权:面向采购商的解决方案支持客户管理员管理用户和角色。此外,SAP Ariba 正在评估个人数据删除和保留功能,比如个人数据删除和匿名化处理。在任何情况下,客户数据一般都会在合同终止时删除。

  • 数据更正权:SAP Ariba 解决方案用户能够在系统内随时编辑或更正用户资料中的个人数据。

  • 透明度:SAP Ariba 解决方案提供对用户个人数据和偏好的可视性。目前,SAP Ariba 也在评估管理员功能,以便支持管理员以标准格式导出用户数据,并轻松查看变更日志。

  • 授权与披露控制:SAP Ariba 解决方案支持客户管理正式员工、合同派遣制员工和第三方的授权、验证和基于角色的访问权限。详细的消息和工作流功能可以帮助 SAP Ariba 的新管理员用户根据角色的变化调整用户访问权限,并管理非活跃用户。

  • 设计和默认保护隐私:SAP Ariba 产品开发遵循 SAP 的指导性产品标准安全要求,并在设计阶段应用了其他的隐私原则,比如限制个人数据收集。默认设置为最高限制,包括:

  • 在合同终止时和个人要求时删除个人可识别信息 (PII)

  • 同意隐私声明(可定制)

  • 在字段级别登录和访问日志

  • PII 可视性、编辑权和可携权

  • 可配置的保留时间和限制处理

  • 自助选择加入/退出和记录

  • 行业标准的数据访问、验证、授权和加密机制

SAP Ariba 服务支持 GDPR 合规

  • 数据泄露通知:一旦发生个人数据泄露,SAP Ariba 服务会全力支持客户履行及时通知的义务。SAP Ariba 提供从发现数据泄露到客户通知的端到端流程。

  • 数据主体权利:SAP Ariba 服务支持客户处理与隐私相关的问题,并协助客户履行义务,包括响应个人行使权利的义务或与个人信息安全相关的义务。

  • 透明度:根据 GDPR 对数据处理者提出的要求,SAP Ariba 服务提供了符合这些要求的 SAP Ariba 组件,支持客户履行记录处理活动的职责。此外,SAP Ariba 还在发布周期中针对新产品/服务(创新成果)和定期的产品/服务变更,执行数据保护影响评估 (DPIA)。

  • 问责制:SAP Ariba 通过不断落实以下责任制活动提供保证,比如对应用、网络和 IT 基础架构进行定期认证、风险评估及安全评估;记录安全计划和政策;以及定期开展安全培训。

  • 分处理者合规性:SAP Ariba 确保分处理者保持合规的途径是,采用 SAP 企业标准采购流程(包括适用个人数据保护的数据保护协议),审查分处理者合同和评估安全风险。SAP Ariba 为客户定期提供并更新经认证的分处理者名单。

VII.其他信息

如需了解更多有关 GDPR 的信息,你可以访问 SAP Cloud Trust Center,在欧盟委员会网站上查看 GDPR 相关文档或查阅欧洲数据保护法手册。

对于与你的账户及任何现有的 SAP Ariba 协议或合同相关的具体问题,请联系你的销售代表。

下载 PDF 版本

Meeting the GDPR Mandate

How SAP and SAP Ariba solutions can support your organization’s journey toward GDPR compliance

I. Introduction

In May 2016, the European Union (EU) adopted a harmonized data protection law called the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). As of 25 May 2018, the GDPR will be in force throughout all EU member states and in the European Economic Area. While the GDPR does not introduce many substantially new concepts, it increases the compliance requirements of data controllers and processors substantially regarding their handling of personal data.

As a company, SAP is committed to ensuring compliance with the GDPR by 25 May 2018. SAP has been consistent in its approach to data protection as part of its general product standards, and this is now being extended to reflect the new requirements of the GDPR.

As customers prepare for compliance, SAP has set out a summary of the changes introduced by the GDPR, the implications of these changes, and how SAP product features can help customers to implement GDPR requirements.

As part of SAP, SAP Ariba is taking a proactive approach to assist customers in complying with GDPR, and the second half of this page outlines specific SAP Ariba solution capabilities and support available to help them do this.

The information contained here is for general guidance only and provided on the understanding that SAP is not herein engaged in rendering legal advice. The responsibility to adopt appropriate measures to achieve GDPR compliance rests with the customers as controllers in terms of the GDPR, and SAP accepts no liability for any actions taken as response to this information. As such, it shall not be used as a substitute for legal or professional consultation.

II. Objectives

The GDPR aims to harmonize data protection requirements across Europe into one single regulation. It addresses corporate bodies governed by public and private law in their capacity of either controller or processor. The new law aims to protect the rights and freedoms of natural persons, to enhance data subjects’ confidence in organizations that hold or process their personal data, and to strengthen the EU’s internal market. To this end, the GDPR provides a uniform set of rules to govern the processing of personal data across the EU. The degree of EU-wide harmonization achievable by the GDPR is, however, restricted to the extent that the regulation contains so-called opening clauses that allow EU member states to set out country-specific laws and requirements for specific data processing activities. These opening clauses therefore may result in applying additional rules and obligations for data controllers and processors, but not changing or altering the original regulation.

III. Material Scope

The GDPR has a broad material scope covering the processing of personal data by automated means or in other structured form, including those intended for part of a filing system. This distinction becomes clear as the GDPR states that it does not apply where natural persons process personal data exclusively during a purely personal, private, or household activity.

IV. Territorial Scope

Likewise, the GDPR has a broad territorial scope and applies to any activities of a data controller or processor in the EU that comprise the processing of an individual’s personal data. Central to this is whether the controller or processor is located in the EU. The GDPR also applies to controllers or processors located outside the EU where the processing serves to offer goods or services to data subjects who reside in the EU or to monitor the behavior of data subjects who reside in the EU.

V. Key Provisions

The GDPR introduces several new legal requirements that may substantially affect a controller’s or processor’s business. Therefore, each controller or processor must verify which GDPR obligations apply to them and must also ascertain how to implement them accordingly.

General principles

In accordance with its general processing principles, the GDPR requires the processing of personal data to be lawful, proportionate, transparent, adequate, accurate, secure, confidential, limited in time and to designated purposes, and conducted in a responsible and accountable manner (which means applying appropriate security – including technical and organizational measures – to ensure integrity and confidentiality).

Personal data

The GDPR explicitly defines what it means by the term personal data: any data that relates to an identified or identifiable individual. GDPR Article 4(1) states: “an identifiable natural person is one who can be identified, directly or indirectly, in particular by reference to an identifier such as a name, an identification number, location data, an online identifier or to one or more factors specific to the physical, physiological, genetic, mental, economic, cultural or social identity of that natural person.” The term clearly includes metadata or other associated data such as IP addresses, cookies, or other identifiers – also a combination of such data – that may trace back to an individual. The GDPR has broadened the known catalog of special categories of personal data to include genetic data, biometric data if used to uniquely identify a natural person, and data related to criminal convictions and offenses.

Lawfulness

Processing personal data will be lawful only if one of the criteria for permission, as set forth in the GDPR, is met. In the absence of direct legal allowance, organizations need consent from individuals whose data is to be processed. This consent must cover all purposes for which the organizations (intending to process the data) collect and process the data and must allow for the individual’s right to withdraw consent at any time. This means that blanket consent or global consent for various unspecified purposes is not valid for the processing of personal data.

Accountability

The GDPR aims to improve accountability of those processing personal data and increase transparency of the data being processed. Despite its similarity in substance and structure to the current EU Directive, the GDPR will take a much tougher line in helping enforcement. Penalties for noncompliance are remarkably high, including administrative fines of up to 4% of annual global revenue or  €20 million, whichever is greater, and with potential damage claims and other legal liability risks designed to incentivize companies to enhance internal structures and processes to comply with the regulation.

Data protection by design and by default

Under the terms of the GDPR, privacy must be built in deliberately and be adopted by default in both systems and processes. Organizations are obligated to ensure that the processing of personal data is for a specific purpose, and organizations must demonstrate that data protection is at the heart of their IT framework and solution design.

Technical and organizational security

These bodies are also obligated to implement all necessary technical and organizational measures (TOMs) to ensure a level of security appropriate to the risk of the processing for the data subjects. It is therefore necessary to analyze the organization’s internal IT asset and process landscape to identify and map data flows that include personal data. This will help to ascertain the appropriateness of the security framework.

Data subject rights

Guided by the concept that the individual should know and always be able to identify what personal data is processed, by whom, for what purposes, and over what time period, data controllers will need to actively provide certain general and specific information; this is in accordance with the GDPR’s revised concepts of data portability and the individual’s rights to access, to refuse/object, or to be forgotten. Organizations involved in processing personal data will therefore require robust internal processes with designated roles.

Data governance

Organizations must implement a host of systemic measures to reduce the risk of violation – as data controllers, customers must demonstrate to the data subject and to regulators that they comply with the applicable regulation, and as data processor, SAP must demonstrate the same to customers. Complexity grows when bodies need to keep track of every purpose for which personal data is being processed and when they need to ensure that all individuals have given their consent for each data processing use case. These measures must be built into existing IT infrastructures. Depending on the outcome of a company’s data protection risk assessment, measures such as the appointment of a dedicated data protection officer, the execution of privacy impact assessments, and the adoption of regular audit procedures will help to maintain compliance.

Breach notification

This is when something goes wrong – when the internal organizational measures have not prevented a data breach, or processing of personal data has been found to be outside lawful purpose. In the event of a data breach, data controllers need to notify the supervisory authority and the affected individuals within 72 hours of becoming aware of the situation. Data processors need to inform data controllers without undue delay after becoming aware of a personal data breach.

VI. Role of SAP Ariba Solutions and Services

SAP Ariba solutions will help customers to achieve GDPR compliance in multiple ways. For example:

  • SAP Ariba solutions support managing and protecting employee and supplier data, including data accessibility and visibility, so the customer’s procurement and supply chain teams can focus on getting business done.

  • With SAP Ariba, the customer can strengthen and protect critical collaboration with their suppliers, managing everything from sourcing to financing.

  • SAP Ariba supports the organization’s accountability, security, and data protection demands. 

GDPR roles and definitions relating to SAP Ariba services

Data controller: GDPR Article 4(7) states: “‘controller’ means the natural or legal person, public authority, agency or any other body which, alone or jointly with others, determines the purposes and means of the processing of personal data” (emphasis added).

In general, the controller assumes responsibility for all personal data collected and must ensure that rights of the data subject and the controller’s own legal obligations are also covered by the processor.

  • SAP Ariba customers are data controllers when they use SAP Ariba applications. SAP Ariba acts as data processor on behalf of the customer by means of the contract (such as the data protection agreement, service description, or statement of work).

  • SAP Ariba suppliers are data controllers as they are fully responsible for the personal data entered in Ariba Network, for example by self-registration.

Data processor: GDPR Article 4(8) states: “‘processor’ means a natural or legal person, public authority, agency or other body which processes personal data on behalf of the controller” (emphasis added).

In general, this refers to data processing based on the instructions of the data controller as contracted.

  • SAP Ariba as the cloud solution provider for customers and suppliers is the data processor for customers and suppliers (who are data controllers).

SAP Ariba solutions and personal data

  • Categories of personal data: SAP Ariba solutions only process simple business contact information of individuals as users or business contacts, such as their e-mail address, employee number, employee name, business phone, and postal address.

  • Special categories of personal data: The SAP Ariba Privacy Statement prohibits use of the solutions for processing special categories of personal data.

  • Cross-border data transfer: SAP Ariba maintains data transfer agreements with SAP/SAP Ariba affiliates and subprocessors that comply with the EU requirements for cross-border personal data transfer. These agreements are based on the EU standard contractual clauses that are equally compliant under the GDPR to ensure an adequate level of data protection in case of data transfers to third countries outside the EU.

  • Encryption: Personal data is encrypted on the storage level, all external communication is encrypted, and the corresponding security policies are in place.

How SAP Ariba supports customers as a data processor

  • SAP Ariba implements appropriate TOMs in terms of accountability and technology by maintaining records of processing activities, conducting privacy impact assessments, and incorporating privacy by design and default within product cycles. 

  • SAP Ariba adheres to SAP’s unified approach for all cloud solutions by applying the data protection agreement (DPA) as a substantial part of the customer contract, which incorporates standard contractual clauses to provide data protection assurances to customers.

  • SAP Ariba employees are required to annually pass data protection and privacy/security awareness trainings that cover privacy principles and security topics.

  • SAP is committed to helping customers understand how SAP Ariba solutions protect the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of their data and provide ongoing accountability by proactively publishing information about SAP Ariba certifications and attestations, data processing agreements, real-time cloud solution availability, and similar areas in the SAP Cloud Trust Center.

SAP Ariba solution features to support GDPR readiness

  • Consent: SAP Ariba solutions capture user consent and acknowledgement of privacy notices before allowing use by new users. This includes, for example, the purpose of processing and the categories of personal data being processed. SAP Ariba is reviewing integrated consent mechanisms such as customer-configurable privacy statements. Solutions also support self-service opt out, so recipients can unsubscribe to unwanted communications such as e-mail notifications.

  • Right to be forgotten: Buyer-facing solutions put user and role management in the hands of the customer administrator. SAP Ariba is also reviewing features for personal data deletion and retention, such as personal data deletion and anonymization. In any case, general customer data deletion is performed upon contract termination.

  • Right to rectification: SAP Ariba solution users can edit or correct their personal data in user profiles within the system at any time.

  • Transparency: SAP Ariba solutions provide visibility to a user’s personal data and preferences. SAP Ariba is also reviewing administrator features to support export of user data in a standard format and a comfortable view of change logs.

  • Authorization and disclosure control: SAP Ariba solutions allow customers to manage authorization, authentication, and role-based access for employees, contractors, and third parties. Detailed ticketing and workflow features help new SAP Ariba administrator users to adapt user access to changing roles and manage inactive users.

  • Privacy by design and by default: SAP Ariba product development follows SAP’s guiding product standard security requirements. Additional privacy principles are applied in the design phase, such as the practice of limited personal data collection. Default settings are set to the maximum restricted, covering:

  • Personally identifiable information (PII) erasure upon contract termination and on demand

  • Consent to privacy notice (customizable)

  • Logging on at the field level and access to logs

  • PII visibility, editing, and portability

  • Configurable retention time and restricted processing

  • Self-service opt in–opt out and logging

  • Industry standard data access, authentication, authorization, and encryption mechanisms

SAP Ariba services to support GDPR readiness

  • Data breach notification: In case of a personal data breach, SAP Ariba services provide full support for obligations to notify of data breaches without undue delay. SAP Ariba offers an end-to-end process from the recognition of a breach up to the customer notification.

  • Data subject rights: SAP Ariba services support the customer in privacy-related questions and provide assistance when customers have an obligation to respond to an individual’s exercise of rights or for obligations regarding the security of personal information.

  • Transparency: SAP Ariba services support customers in fulfilling their obligation to keep records of processing activities by providing the SAP Ariba component in full compliance with the GDPR requirements for data processors. SAP Ariba also conducts data protection impact assessments (DPIAs) for new products/services (innovations) and regular product/service changes in the release cycle.

  • Accountability: SAP Ariba provides assurance through ongoing accountability activities such as regular certification, risk assessment, and security assessment of applications, network, and IT infrastructure; documented security programs and policies; and regular security trainings.

  • Subprocessor compliance: SAP Ariba ensures ongoing subprocessor compliance by subprocessor contract vetting and assessment of security risks using SAP corporate standard purchasing processes, including data protection agreements that regulate personal data protection. A list of approved subprocessors is regularly provided and updated for customers.

VII. Additional Information

To learn more about GDPR, you can access the SAP Cloud Trust Center, explore GDPR-related documents on the European Commission web site, or review the handbook on European data protection law.

For specific questions relating to your account and any existing SAP Ariba agreements or contracts, please contact your representative.

Download a PDF version of this information